

For 40 years the Iranian people have been held hostage by an extremist regime which has destroyed Iran's natural resources, its social fabric, rich culture, temperate environment, and its economic potential. It has suppressed dissent and responded to their protests with state-sanctioned violence, imprisonment, torture, and executions. The regime holds the world record for executions, particularly of women and youth.

The current president of the regime, Ebrahim Raisi, is one of the main perpetrators of the 1988 massacre of 30,000 political prisoners. Hundreds of current and former UN officials, legal and human rights experts and international NGOs have written <u>an open letter</u> to the UN Human Rights Council calling for an international investigation into the 1988 massacre.

Since 2018, eight major protests for democratic change in Iran have been brutally suppressed (Amnesty International Report 2021). In November 2019, more than 1,500 protesters, mostly young men, and women, were shot dead in the streets.

The Iranian people, especially the younger generation, are fighting for freedom. They have been deprived of their fundamental freedoms for which reason they rejected monarchic dictatorship and are opposing religious tyranny. Iran is on the verge of a major change. After 100 years of struggle against dictatorship, the Iranian people want a free, democratic Iran, a Republic based on free elections and the rejection of any dictatorship.

Every year, tens of thousands of Iranians and hundreds of international personalities from all over the world gather to be the voice of a nation that is resisting. The participants condemn the religious dictatorship and express their support for a free Iran and the opposition's 10-point program for a secular, non-nuclear republic, gender equality, end to discrimination against ethnic and religious minorities, and respect for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and international conventions on political freedom.

The Global Summit for a Free Iran will be held this year on 23 July 2022.

The Iranian people have the right to resist the regime for freedom. We call on our governments to stand with the Iranian people and their resistance, on the right side of history, and to recognize their right to freedom. (A 2 MN clip on 40 years tyranny in Iran and the Global Summit)

We express our solidarity with the Global Summit for a Free Iran and its democratic goals.

## Partial list of supportive parliamentarians & dignitaries:

# Parliamentarian Committees for a Free Iran:

- British Committee for Iran Freedom (BCFIF)
- International Committee of Parliamentarians for a Democratic Iran (ICPDI)



- European Parliament Friends of a Free Iran (FoFI)
- Le Comité français pour un Iran démocratique (CFID)
- Comitato dei Senatori Italiani per un Iran Democratico
- Comitato italiano di parlamentari e cittadini per Iran Libero
- Deutsches Solidaritätskomitee für einen freien Iran (DSFI)
- Comité Belge des Parlementaires et Bourgmestres pour un Iran Démocratique
- Comité suisse pour la démocratie et laïcité en Iran
- Canadian Friends of a Democratic Iran (CFDI)
- Australian Supporters of Democracy in Iran
- Friends of a Free Iran & Against Fundamentalism (Nordic)
- Comitetul Parlamentarilor Romani Pentru Iranul Liber
- The Dutch Group of Friends of a Free Iran

### ISJ - International Committee in Search of Justice

**Alejo Vidal-Quadras**, Vice-president of the European Parliament (1999 - 2014), ISJ President

**Ambassador Giulio Terzi**, former foreign minister of Italy (2011-2013) **Struan Stevenson**, former MEP-President of the European Parliament's Delegation for Relations with Irag (2009 - 2014)

**Paulo Casaca**, former MEP-former Chair of European Parliament's delegation for relations with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly

# **United Kingdom:**

Rt Hon David Jones MP, former Secretary of State

**Dr Matthew Offord** MP

**Bob Blackman** MP

**The Baroness Verma**, former Baroness in Waiting (HM Household) (Whip) and Parliamentary Under Secretary (Department for International Development)

The Baroness Harris of Richmond DL, Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords The Lord Clarke of Hampstead CBE

The Rt Hon. the Baroness Boothroyd OM, former Speaker of the House of Commons

Steve McCabe MP, former Shadow Minister, and Opposition Whip

The Rt Hon. the Lord Dholakia OBE DL, Co-Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Peers and former Party Chair

The Prof. Lord Alton of Liverpool

The Rt Rev. the Lord Harries of Pentregarth DD, former Bishop of Oxford Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP, former Vice-Chair of the Conservative Party Rt Hon John Spellar MP, former Minister

John Cryer MP

Ian Mearns MP

**Iim Shannon** MP

#### **France:**

André CHASSAIGNE MP Bertrand PANCHER MP



**Brahim HAMMOUCHE** MP

Yannick FAVENNEC MP

Philippe GOSSELIN MP

**Constance LE GRIP** MP

Éric DIARD MP

François PUPPONI MP

Frédéric REISS MP

Hervé SAULIGNAC MP

**Hubert WULFRANC MP** 

Jean-Michel CLEMENT MP

Nadia ESSAYAN MP

Pierre-Yves BOURNAZEL MP

Yannick FAVENNEC MP

Alain VIVIEN, former Minister

Alain VIDALIS, former Minister

Alain NERI, former Senator

Jean-Pierre BRARD, former MP

**François Colcombet,** former MP

Martine PINVILLE, former MP

Jean-Pierre BRARD, former MP

Michèle de VAUCOULEURS, former MP

Jacques Boutault, former Mayor & MP

Guy Schmitt, Mayor

Bruno Macé, Mayor

Jacky Duminy, Mayor

Jean-François Legaret, former mayor

Jean-Pierre BEQUET, former Mayor

Yves BONNET, former director of DST

Gilbert MITTERRAND, Chair of Danielle Mitterrand foundation

## **Italy:**

Senator Roberto Rampi

Hon. Stefania Pezzopane MP

**Hon. Antonio Tasso** MP

On. Elisabetta Zamparutti, former MP

On. Carlo Ciccioli, former MP

Dr. Antonio Stango

Cristina Belpassi, Mayor

Donatella Paganelli, Mayor

Emanuele Faduzzi, Mayor

Francesco Cavallero, Mayor

Giovanni De Michelis, Mayor

Luca Panetta, Mayor

Mauro Giuseppe Castelli, Mayor

Paolo Bodoni, Mayor

Ricardo Travaglini, Mayor

Toni Matarrelli, Mayor

Roberto Rossini, Confederazione Generale Italiana del Lavoro (CGIL)



### **Germany:**

**Hermann-Josef Scharf,** Deputy Chairman of the Christian Democratic Party of Saarland **Martin Patzelt,** former MP

### **Belgium:**

Senator Mark Demaesmaker Dirk Claes, honorary Senator Pierre Galand, honorary Senator, chairman of OMCT - Europe Serge de Patoul, honorary MP

#### **Nordic Countries:**

**Kimmo Sasi,** former MP and Minister from Finland **Jan-Erik Enestam,** former Minister from Finland **Lars Rise,** former MP from Norway **Edvard Julius Solnes,** former Minister from Iceland

#### **Switzerland:**

Laurence Fehlmann-Rielle, Federal MP Pagani Remy, Geneva MP Jean-charles Rielle, Geneva MP Eric Voruz, former MP Nils de Dardel, prominent lawyer

#### The Netherlands:

Prof. Henk de Haan, former MP, chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee

## **Poland:**

Marcin Swiecicki, former Minister

## **Romania:**

Romeo Nicoara, former MP Maria Grecea, former MP Maria Eugenia Barna, former MP Mihai Deaconu, former MP Andreu Gerea, former MP Daniel Buidurescu, former MP Liviu Titus Pasca, former Senator

## **Moldova:**

**Petre Stirbate**, former MP **Sergiu Ceaus**, former MP



#### **Canada:**

Tony Clement, former Minister

#### **Australia:**

Dr. Meredith Burgmann, former President of NSW Parliament House **Penny Sharpe MLC** MP, Leader of the opposition in the legislative council & Shadow Minister of Environment

**Anna Watson** MP Lvnda Voltz MP Sonia Hornery MLA MP Claire Moore MP Bruce Childs, former Senator Doug Cameron, former Senator

Dr Arthur Chesterfield-Evans, former MP

Don Nardella, former MP Sylvia Hale, former MP

Rev Brian Medway, National President of CrossLink Christian Network Australia Father Claude Mostowik, National President of Pax Christi Australia Phil Glendenning, Director of Edmund Rice Center